Home

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Become a Fan:

Special Group Tours

Small Groups...Interesting Itineraries...Personalized Service

SGT Advantage

Why our Tours?

FAQ

2012 Tour Calendar

Meet Your Team

Testimonials

Accommodations

Mini-Coaches

Booking Conditions

Contact Us

Toll Free Tel: 1 866 725 5250    Email: specialgrouptours@yahoo.com

Welcome to the World of Jane Austen Tours

Join us as we follow in the footsteps of one of the world’s most beloved writers.

Explore the life and times of Jane Austen, places where she lived or visited, areas of inspiration for her novels and treasure houses used as film sites of her works.

It is all here waiting for you to enjoy, come and explore some of the best regions of the UK, “Jane Austen’s England.”

Jane Austen Links:

>

‘Little Thinker’ Dolls Available for purchase!

Protect your Investment

We look forward to welcoming you aboard soon!

Scheduled Jane Austen Tours of England:

*Jane Austen’s Hampshire: 5 days from London; Explore Hampshire, the county of England where Jane Austen spent most of her life. Visiting sites where she lived, worked and was inspired by plus a few places used as setting for recent films of her works, we will see the best that Hampshire has to offer.

*Jane Austen’s Southern England: 9 days from London; 12 - 21 June, 2012 Highlight trail of stately homes and gardens in Hampshire and Kent. Delightful scenery, beautiful landscapes with literary connections. Combining Jane Austen’s Hampshire & Kent Landscapes tours.

*English Literary Festival: NEW! Special FESTIVAL Departure including English Rivera Agatha Christie Festival & Bath Jane Austen Festival! 10 days from London; 8 - 16 Sep, 2012 Celebrate the heritage of Regency England and go on the ‘Mystery Writers Trail.’ Follow some beloved authors visiting the areas of Hampshire, Devon, Dorset, Cornwall and Somerset plus the city of Bath.

*A Week with Jane Austen: 10 days starting London, finishing Manchester; SOLD OUT! See the places that inspired Jane Austen, where she lived, wrote her most important works and some of the treasure houses captured as settings for recent film versions of her works in Hampshire, Bath, Cotwolds and the Peak District. Combining Jane Austen’s Hampshire & Homes of Heart of England tours for a special 10 day ‘Week.’

 

Selections from our “A Brit Different” Itinerary Collection...More Scheduled Literary Heritage Tours:

*Kent Landscapes: 4 days from London; 17 - 21 June, 2012 A selection of gardens in the region known as “The Garden of England.” As a fun twist to the usual, the stately homes and cottage gardens we visit also have a literary connection! Join in the 2012 Charles Dickens Bicentenary Celebrations in Broadstairs!

*South Wales Heritage Trail: 4 days from London; multiple departure dates; The highlights of South Wales using the country’s rich literary heritage as our guide. See areas of inspiration for Dylan Thomas, Roald Dahl, “How Green Was my Valley” author Richard Llewelyn and the used book capitol Hay-on-Wye. (links with North Wales Celts & Gardens)

*Scotland Literary Heritage: NEW! from Edinburgh; NEW! August, 2012 Exploring the highlights of Scotland with it’s rich literary heritage as our guide, seeing areas of inspiration for Rabbie Burns, Robert Louis Stevenson and Sir Walter Scott and more. Includes the Inverness Book Festival, Edinburgh International Book Festival & Edinburgh Book Fringe.

*Yorkshire Gardens: 5 days from Manchester; 25 - 29 June, 2012 Another ‘dual theme’ itinerary, see the best of Northern England’s gardens, literary landscapes that inspired the Bronte sisters and James Herriot.

*Beatrix Potter Experience: 3 days/2 nights in the Lake District; Are you potty about Potter? Then this short break is for you!

*Northern England - Yorkshire & Peak District: 5 days from Manchester; Highlights include settings for the Brontes, James Herriot, Castle Howard and the treasure houses used as Jane Austen film sites.

DESIGN YOUR OWN CUSTOM TOUR WITH US! All SGT itineraries are available for private departures, from 2 guests and up on the date of your choice. The cost of a private tour is based on how many guests in the party. All itineraries below are suggestions and can be modified to specifically suit your travel requirements/requests. Learn more here: Private, Tailor-Made tours

Please contact us for a specific quote: specialgrouptours@yahoo.com

 

Private Literary Day Tours in/from London:

*Jane Austen’s Hampshire: See the scenery which inspired, a former home and museum in Chawton and her final resting place in Winchester.

*Literary London: Explore the London of the great classical writers through to those best sellers of today. A novel way to explore the city.

*Stratford-Upon-Avon and Oxford: No visit to the UK is complete without these literary must see destinations!

*Harry Potter Day Tour: A fun day out exploring film/book sites in Oxford and the Cotswolds.

*Literary Kent and Sussex: Spoilt for choice in this mega literary landscape...AA Milne, Virginia Woolf/Bloomsbury group, Kipling, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen to name a few choices.

*Writers, Royalty and the River: Discover the rich literary heritage on London’s backdoor. See Windsor, the Chiltern Hills and the Thames Valley. Sites associated with Mary Shelley, Kenneth Graham, HG Wells, TS Elliot, Thomas Gray and more.

*London Theatre: Shakespeare’s Globe, South Bank, West End, Theatre Museum; backstage tours, walking tours and more options. A great day out in the Capitol!

*Scenic Lake District: Rail journey and guided tour through the spectacular Lakes and Romantic literary landscapes of Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth.

 

“Name the Date” Some of our SGT Suggested Itineraries for Private Groups, whenever you want them:

*Literary England: 9 days beginning London, finishing in Manchester; A highlight tour of some of the rich literary landscapes of England in Kent, Hampshire, Heart of England and the Lake District. Authors of interest include Jane Austen, Shakespeare, Dickens, Thomas Hardy, William Wordsworth, the Brontes, Flora Thompson...

*Literary England: ‘The Classic Route’: 9 days from London; The classical iconic sites of England focused on their literary heritage. London, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Oxford, Stonehenge, Bath, Canterbury, Dover.

*The BookWorm - Literary England and Wales: 8 days from London; Authors and their Inspirations - a highlight tour of literary sites in Kent, Heart of England and Southwest Wales.

*James Joyce, Irish Literary Tour: 6 days from Dublin; Highlights of Ireland’s Literary Heritage including places of inspiration for James Joyce, YB Yates, Bram Stoker, Oscar Wilde, Christie Brown, C S Lewis, Beckett, Shaw, Swift, Synge, Brian Friel... Can feature Dublin’s Bloomsday Festival!

*Literary Scotland: Borders Book Festival 8 days from Edinburgh; Available for private groups

*Literary Scotland: Wigtown Book Festival - Scotland’s National Book Town! 8 days from Edinburgh; Available for private groups

*Jane Austen Country: 3 days from London; Homes, museums and locations readily recognizable from her novels. A tour for the fan and their companions alike - also includes Thomas Hardy’s Dorset

*Literary Kent and Sussex: 4 days from London; Authors and inspirations for fans of Dickens, Woolf, Austen, Kipling and more.

*Shakespeare Country: 4 days from London; Authors, inspirations and general sightseeing in the land of Shakespeare, The Inklings, Flora Thompson and others. This tour features Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon and Warwick Castle along with the lovely scenery of the Cotswolds region.

*Harry Potter Mini-Tour: 3 days from London; A short holiday exploring that boy’s film locations & areas of inspirations. Family friendly tour!

*Literary Lakes: 3 days from Manchester; Scenic landscapes and the inspiration for William Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and others. Also includes the Brontes’ Haworth.

*Herriot Country: Yorkshire: 3 days from Manchester; North Yorkshire's rolling Dales and Moors, the city of York, seaside Whitby and the magnificent Castle Howard.

*Peak District: Stately Homes and Regency Film Sites: 3 days from Manchester; A delight for any visitor, stately homes, stunning gardens and countryside, but especially those fans of recent Jane Austen films.

*Robin Hood and the Heroes of England: 3 days from Manchester; Go in search of our central figure, a man of great romance and mystery in English folklore - Robin Hood. We’ll explore what life was like for everyday people in Medieval England, see some stunning scenery, regal stately homes and introduce some sites of other ‘Heroes of England!’

*Literary North: 8 days from Manchester; Yorkshire, Nottingham & The Peak District. North Yorkshire, inspiration for All Creatures Great and Small author James Herriot, the Bronte sisters and others. There’s the inspirational landscapes of The Dales, The Moors, the Pennine Hills, the city of York and amazing stately homes Castle Howard, Chatsworth Estate and Lyme Park all to enjoy.

*Literary Heritage in Southern England and Wales: 12 days from London; See the literary highlights in Kent, Hampshire, South Wales and the Cotswolds. Homes and inspirations for Jane Austen, Thomas Hardy, Kipling, Woolf, Dylan Thomas, Shakespeare, Tolkien and more.

*In Search of that Boy Wizard, Harry Potter: 9 days from London; A longer exploration of film locations & inspirations in London, Somerset, Heart of England and South Wales. Family friendly tour!

*Unlock the Da Vinci Code: 8 days or more in the Capitol Cities of Europe; Tracing the path of Robert & Sophie. SGT Exclusive Tour written originally for the History Channel.

Join us off the beaten track, meet the locals and enjoy the hidden gems those herded on big coach tours miss!

Special Group Tours is dedicated to giving you the holiday of a lifetime. Traveling in small groups and on interesting itineraries throughout the United Kingdom and Europe, you will be taken behind the tourist facade. Meet the locals, seeing both the famous sites (after the crowds have left) and the hidden gems that those herded on big buses miss. Live the history of the areas you visit, sample life in small villages and have experiences not open to larger groups, in the company of your multi talented driver/guide/companion.

Enjoy your independence without the hassles of driving yourself.

What is Small Group Touring? Small Group Touring is traveling with just 6 - 14 guests per departure. It is our aim to introduce you to the ‘real’ country and its people, not just ticking the boxes of a standardized route and treating you as an individual and not a number. Our concept allows for a leisurely touring pace and flexibility, incorporating local events and possibly special requests from traveling companions. Of course you’ll see the major sites but so much more too! See Why Our Tours for more info about the advantages of the Small Group Touring Concept.

Why SGT? With Special Group Tours (SGT), you will have the advantage of expert advice from those who have not only visited, but have years of experience living in and loving the cultures you will visit. We hand pick our suppliers with your comfort and expectations in mind. Special Group Tours is a tour operator, specialty travel agency and custom design tour service dedicated to giving YOU the vacation you deserve! SGT and its suppliers have been providing quality Jane Austen and Literary Heritage Tours for over 15 years. Come and join us!

 

Special Group Tours

Toll Free: 1 866 725 5250

specialgrouptours@yahoo.com